Northward bound Part 4:
Easter and the Hunt for Caches, not Eggs.

Eastersunday dawned grey but dry. Lucky for us, ’cause we had great plans to spend the day searching for caches. The easteregg hunt is boring in comparison…
What better way to get to know an area, than finding local caches?
To find them with a local cacher of course!
I had contacted GermanSailor, whom I met through forum and cointrades and who graciously agreed to accompany us for a tour. I’m quite certain he rued the day he offered…

We had no certain time and meeting place yet, so I sent a text message to his phone. Who cares it was 6:50 Sunday morning? Is it my fault, his SMS ringtone woke him?
But that gave us an early start, and the day turned nearly into powercaching, 29 caches found is pretty close to my most finds a day record. For me much to stressfull, but not this day, we had some long walks with the dog inbetween some drive by locations.

We agreed to meet at a cache in Bremerhaven, which was the first of a series of four swimming pools and a bonus. The series lead us to the various swimming pools and showed as a bonus the place, where the first pool of the city once had been.
We gave the dog some exercise on the levée of the River Weser while searching for a multistage cache. Yesterday I had dismissed this multi as my O’Ryan (ah Orion, also known as Oregon) doesn’t show listing pictures. ‘Cause the description said, go to the place and find the blacked out numbers of the photo.

GermanSailor had a print out, but it turned out to be useless as well, the photo in question wasn’t printed out.
While I would have abandoned the search, the local pulled the telephone joker and called the owner. He told us where to look for the numbers and we managed to find the cache then.

River Weser in Bremerhaven

As we were close to the old harbour area and inner city, we took a walk through Bremerhaven and found some caches there.
It was a bit strange to see some of the locals already hanging out with booze on a early sunday morning, but inner cities are probably filled with these kind of merrymakers all over. I’m just not aware of it, as I rarely spend time in city centres.
We passed an interesting lantern in Bremerhaven. It was placed there in honour of native Lale Andersen, whose song Lili Marleen must be the most well known song during WWII.

Even nowadays this song is still liked well, I remember I was often asked to sing it in German in Irish pubs. Even though my vocal range is soprano not alto….
…steht eine Laterne…laterne


After finding some caches in Bremerhaven, we then headed out north into the country.
Where caches are not hidden, but placed. With little or no camouflage. And huge boxes.
Amazingly, that they aren’t getting muggled.

Another reminder of our time in Ireland was the visit at two dolmen. I never even knew that there are proper dolmen in Germany. The skill and strength of those celtic builders will never cease to amaze me. I might be curious as to why those dolmens were errected, but much more I would be interested as to how they built them.


One cachehunt lead us to a Jewish cemetery. I like visiting graveyards, mostly because I like reading names and dates on headstones and enjoy the trees. This was an old cemetery, the stones were well weathered. One tree tried to get his way around one of the stones, but didn’t quite manage.
Aparently it is not custumary to grace the graves with flowers, something totally alien to me. I love my flowers, and I certainly would have flowers on the graves of my loved ones. Even my dog got some flowers planted on her grave.

Jewish Cemetery

Tree versus Headstone

The landscape is vastly different from what I’m used to. At home we have forests and hills, sometimes gentle slopes, sometimes steep inclines.
Here it is more or less level, a hillock covered with heather is a huge exception. So much an exception, that the cachelisting ironically mentions the need for alpine gear in order to climb it.

Heather covered hillock.

Boundary marker, another lovely spot in the Geest.

Taking the dog for a walk in the Geest, as the area with left overs of glaciers of the ice age is called, we got a proper soaking. I rarely wear jackets, unless it’s raining, and it hadn’t rained as we left the car. So I got, what one without a jacket deserves. But luckily I had spare clothes in the car to change out of the wet jumper.
One cache low in a tree we left unlogged, KS-HTK was on the tree, but couldn’t reach from his point up to the box. And just as he would have tried to get a bit higher, there was lightning and a thunder, so I told him to come down again. There is no need for stunts in a tree at a thunderstorm. Albeit a short one.

I kind of lost my orientation as we reached Cuxhaven. I was’t aware, the the water seen from there is the River Elbe. Embarrassing. I should really check the map better.
But I could always say, this is the North Sea, couldn’t I?

These ships were Hamburg bound, not Bremen….

One of the last caches of the day lead us to a Traditional with a twist. In order to reach the box, you need a srewdriver and a lug wrench.
As we arrived at the location, two men were already trying to get to the cache.
We joined them with the tools, and managed to open the pipe, but the box was wedged inside and we couldn’t get it out. There were signs of unnecessary brute force at the pipe, I wonder who can’t read a listing. Our effords to get the wedged in box out of the pipe were hopeless. So before there was any more damaged done, we decided to call the owner.
GermanSailor started the phonecall, but to my dismay gave me the phone to let me speak to the owner. Now I had not only to explain, who I am and why I’m calling from GermanSailors phone, I had also to be Hiob and bear sad news.
Understandably the owner couldn’t believe my tale and came imediately out to the location. It turned into a kind of spontaneous event, suddenly we were a group of ten cachers at the location.

It is really sad to see the handy work of an owner treated so badly. The damage was more severe than we thought, and so we got allowance to log this as a find, even though we only touched the box but couldn’t sign the logbook.
I can’t understand, why someone can’t leave a location just like it was. Is it too difficult to show common sense and place the box exactly like it was as one found it?

A busy Easter Sunday, with walkes and talkes and 29 finds. Many Thanks to GermanSailor for playing the guide. We learned a lot about the area.
Whoever wants to hunt for Easter eggs?