Northward bound Part 2
Bogs, the Universe, and a short visit in Hamburg

At the Dönerstag Event I got an offer to park close to Moorteufels house in the Teufelsmoor, the devils bog.
Such a nice place to camp for the night! The walk with the dog got me stargazing, there was no light pollution. So many stars aren’t visible at home.

During the night one inept caravan driver wasn’t able to go round a bend into an entrance and woke me at half past one in the morning. Well, not he but his two companions, who probably never had to tow a trailer in the first place and also knew nothing about helping the driver.
Usually one gives signals till its getting tight and then signals to stop. Not so this noisy crew, the shouted stop, stop, when there were one meter space left and then said, you can go a little bit further.
The poor driver had my full sympathy.


The sunrise over the bog was spectacular, I took the dog for a walk and then we headed off to find some caches.
The first on our way was disabled. I knew this, but still took a stop to see the location, as this was a cache of grisu1702. It was placed at a lock, where in former times the peat boats used the waterway.
A nice sign explaned how the lock used to work and the history of the Teufelsmoor.

I took a moment to watch the area, three deer were feeding in the meadow, the sun was just coming up, it was really nice there this Good Friday morning.
The children couldn’t believe, that this channel was really wide enough for boats.


Strangly enough I was reminded of this lock and cache on Easter Monday in the Maritime Museum in Bremerhaven. They have a peat boat there from the Teufelsmoor, which can load 6m³ of peat.
Narrow and long, this kind of vessel is certainly able to use those small canals in the bog.
Even though I was earlier told off for taking pictures, I just had to secretly take my camera out and take a picture of the peat boat.

kahn Peat boat, used till 1950 in the Teufelsmoor



We stayed in the bog for a while and searched for caches. The best way to get to know an area, I think.

Bernhardinersee at sunrise on Good Friday


I don’t like abandoned places much, but here we found a mobile milking station. The cows didn’t have to come all the way to the yard.

ducksI wonder, who they’re waiting for?

I really liked these trophies! The owner obviously has a good sense of humour…


Later in the morning we went to the universe. Well at least to the museum, housing the exibition of a multitude of science. Biology, Geology, Astrology all in one museum.
The Universe…

I liked the part best, where lot’s of things could be tried out.
We could build arches, sit on nailboards, make soap bubbles, who floated on carbon monoxide, and generally touch and try things. The best way to learn.


plasmahand Finnualas hand is attracting the lightning

Churning the waters

Proudly presenting: The Arch!

We traveled into the earth, got to know vulcanoes and tectonic plates of the lithoshere, figured out the missing link between apes and humans, and took a trip out of our solar system.
You could even sit in a “living room” and expierience three major earthquakes. Scary!

schief The grade slope room, the bottle is showing how much.

Just as I was fed up with looking at the exibition, I got a call from Tuennes, who was caching in the port area of Hamburg.
He was testing my spontaneity by tempting me to drive all the way to Hamburg that afternoon.
We made arrangements to meet in the Oberhafenkantine for dinner.
So I hit the motorway and went on my way to Hamburg. Luckily I had a pocket query of the area, so I was able to find some caches on the way.
Tuennes called again, telling me, he’s enjoying the sun on some steps in the Speicherstadt, the old warehouse district.
Parking was difficult, the lots were only for cars under 1.95m, my VW Van is to high for those. But I found a semi-legal spot between a pedestrian area and the street. Well, it was a sandy spot, where there should have been some flowers, but noone bothered to plant them.

Speicherstadt, brick houses all over the place.

Arriving at the coordinates, Tuennes had given me, we also met one of the famous Doppel-O-Agenten, secret agent Oschn.
We tried to find two caches, but holiday and sunshine ensured crowds in this picturesque part of Hamburg.

“Geheime Informationsbasis” Secret Informant

View of the River Elbe

Tappas for dinner

We went for food into the Portugese Quarter, the Tappas were just great!
As a tourist in Hamburg there is one place one has to go. Landungsbrücken and through the old tunnel under the River Elbe.
Even some musicians singing shanties were out there in the sun. It was just perfect. Ships, water, sunshine.

Hamburg, Deine Schiffe….

Rickmer Rickmers

After crossing the river underneath and seeing all these lovely tiles there, we managed to find another cache and had a look at the skyline of Hamburg. Oschn was the perfect guide and explained all the landmarks we could spot.
It was really funny to watch all other people at the area, cause our guide was embellishing his explanations with local history and anecdotes. Those people around became quieter and quieter and tried to listen to his stories as well. I can’t blame them, they were interesting and well delivered. So thank you for coming with us.
Tile skupture in the tunnel entrance

Secret Agent in the old Elbtunnel

St.Michaelis, called Michel, the most famous church in Hamburg

Another famous spot in the harbour area is the Oberhafenkantine, where they serve very tasty local cuisine. And literally everything is askew. The table had a grade of -2.8°, the windowsill even worse of -6°.
Matjes (herring) and fried potatoes.

For the night we went back to Bremen, as I wanted to visit the inner city on Saturday.