Out catching a glimpse of Nessie – Part 2

Segedunum, Angels and no reception in Edinburgh.

After a full breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausages, rashers, baked beans, hash browns and tomatoes, I was ready to start driving on the left.
Our first stop was at an old Roman fort, Segedunum.
The cache there we were unable to find, but the museum more than made up for that. For one thing, only adults pay, children are free!

The displays inside are great especially for children, as they are allowed to touch and try things. Interactivity gives them much more enjoyment in learning than just admiring glass cabinets.

So it was not only explained, how Segedunum looked in Roman times, but also the layers, where builders nowadays may stumble over them and archaeologist still find Roman artifacts. Those artifacts were shown as well, but also a room of a Roman cavalry man, one could treat a wounded soldier as a Roman doctor, build a mosaic and look at the latrines and into the bathhouse.

A fountain in the bathhouse, I loved the colours!

As it was Sunday, we got treated to a display of Roman Cavalry man. They showed us their skills with the spear.
Also some of the uniform parts, which my kids were allowed to try on.

Skilled with the spear

But also with the crossbow

Spear attack

Roman Cavalry meets Modern Industry

KS-HTK as Roman soldier

A selection of different helmets and the old form of checkers

Central heating

The foundations were reconstructed

One of the young Roman lads of maybe seven had me laughing out loud, as he demanded: ‘Mum, get me a hamburger!’ Didn’t really fit, the roman clothes and being the right hand of a cavalry man (his Dad), but demanding modern day fast food….

As my holiday plans started to develop, my son got his „Discover Britain“ CD Rom and started playing again to see, what might be there he wants to see.
The Angel of the North was one of the places he wanted to visit.
As the ferry to Rosyth near Edinburgh was nearly double the price of the ferry to Newcastle, we went that way. So the Angel of the North wasn’t really so much of a detour. Quite a sight it is, visible from far away already.
A cache very kindly placed close to the Angel helped me find my way there.

The Angel of the North

The weather had turned from the heatwave of Holland into something much more associated with British Isles, damp or even wet and less hot.
So we took our way northwards with a few caches to give us a break.

I had hoped to meet with Geo-Gophers, another aquaitance from the forums, who lives north of Edinburgh.

So I gave O’Ryan a waypoint in Alloa.
But after reaching Edinburgh, he had trouble calculating the route. It drove me nuts, every 5 seconds a peeping indicating, that he’s calculating. In the end I had to find my way through the city centre of Edinburgh, something I didn’t fancy at all. O’Ryan was as unreliable as the next male. Another manifestation of his gender, I was sure. So I just put the map on the O’Ryan on a huge scale, to get an overview where I want to head to, tried to ignore his nerve racking peeping and tried to find my way through the inner city. I guess, the construction areas with their detours didn’t help, either.
After finding at last some signs for the Forth Bridge and Rosyth ferry, we crossed the Firth of Forth and low and behold, apparently we were able to drive over sheer water, the bridge wasn’t on the map. After crossing the Firth O’Ryan found his bearings quite quickly and was able to lead us to Alloa.
I had put this trouble down to the missing bridge on the map, but on the way back from the North the same happened again, and this time we didn’t have to cross the Firth of Forth. Something must be disturbing O’Ryan’s reception within the boundaries of Edinburgh.
Unfortunately we didn’t manage to meet with Geo-Gophers in Alloa, but found a wonderful spot down at the River Forth. A tiny, tiny park like area, with memorial and parking facing the water available, exactly what a tired motorist is looking for. Tranquil to watch the water slowly head out to the sea…

River Forth at Alloa