While others went gaga to get a Mega Icon in Bremen, I had the pleasure to be working. But still in all that busy time, I got the chance to find a few caches.

As much as I love driving, making 1125 km within 32 hours isn’t that much fun. I don’t know how truckers manage…
But at least I could take a break now and then and appease my addiction: Geocaching…
Bavaria and especially the south of Bavaria is quite different from what I’m used to in North Hessian.
It is much like being in foreign parts…

Someone mentioned to me, should I ever go to Bad Tölz in Bavaria, south of Munich, I should pay a visit to an amazing location: “Klein Kairo”, Little Kairo.
The cache there is called Steinpyramiden, stone-pyramides.

An elderly man without fixed abode is the artist and has to rebuild the pyramides every year, as the high water of the spring melt from the Alps washes most of them away. By now he and his pyramides are famous far beyond the county borders…

.

.
owner

It takes a bit of a drive from the city borders of Bad Tölz. Giving, that I don’t have a map in the GPSr, I was bound to take the road on the wrong side of the River Isar. So I drove past the pyramides and we had the first glimpse of them.
Parking at the recomended coordinates proofed to be a bit of a problem, as the small parking lot was pretty full and me driving my VW van with a huge trailer, I just didn’t fit on it. Turning on a narrow and winding country road isn’t fun while hauling a trailer either, so I had a bit of another detour to drive, in order to park at the side of the road on the grass bank.

We walked then about 700m to the cache location, which was very pleasurable, as the air was filled with bird song and the occacional ringing bell of the cows.

An arrow pointed us in the right direction and we found those absolutely amazing stone formations.
pfeil
.
.
.

48 pyramidespyra

pyramides

pyramides
The cache was then about 100m off. Very sensible, as noone could observe us logging. And there were enough muggles about. Fishing with wading gear, walking dogs, admiring the pyramides, chatting with the artist, enjoying the sunny Pentecost (Whitsun) Sunday.

fisherman

isarBlue water in the River Isar

flowerflowering meadowWiese

Unfortunately I didn’t have much time to spend in Southern Germany, but the houses were picturesque, the churches had lovely onion-shaped spires on their steeples, and lot’s of the cows had huge bells on their collars. The ringing sound was lovely. One bull made quite a racket, cause he was scratching himself at the stable door and the bell was clanging melodiously!
bull

kirche

The very short stay made appetite for more, so Southern Bavaria will stay on the must visit areas list most definitely.

schildmaibaum

.
kirche