Berlin Part 1:

Sometimes it is time to stop dreaming of visiting someplace and just get going. So if your dream is not too far away but only a few hours drive, why not use a weekend and head off?

My dream had been Berlin. I’ve never been there before. But I dreamed of sitting on the steps of the Reichstag and imagine all these famous people that had been there as well. The emperor, famous politians, Adenauer, Kennedy, everyone had been there. So I started making plans to visit Berlin.

But then work can intrude quite severely in my travelplans. I wanted to go at Easter, but all the well laid plans……

As my brother had to attend a plant market in the Arboretum in Berlin (Botanischer Garten, Berlin-Dahlem), he insisted on me packing my van full of roses to come along. He in turn took my camping stuff and sleeping bags in boxes and had some more roses on top of it.

Not only was my holiday cut one and ahalf days short, as Easter would give me Good Friday off as well as Easter Monday, no, it also started with 3 hours sitting idle in the sun on a motorway. About 500m in front of us a car burned.

Stau leitplankeThree hours of boredom…

Firebrigades, police, ambulances, there was no shortage of emergency vehicles. But even as the burned out havarist was removed, the motorway stayed closed. Not even one of the three lines was opened up. Later on I heard, that while I was held up from a fire, someone had fataly crushed into a truck at the end of the traffic jam. So police and ambulances had lots of work…

Eventually I reached Berlin and changed goods with my brother, he got the roses to sell the next day, I got my camping equipment. And just made it to an meeting for a nightcache.

Teufelsaugen, the devils eyes, it was called and it lead me onto the ONLY “mountain” in the whole of Berlin…

There seems to be a rule: If there is a mountain, the cache will be on top. Or if it is a multicache, then the way will lead you first to the top, then back down and the only way back to your car will be over that hilltop again. Talk about sadistic cacheowners.

Well, this nightcache was something really special. The story was nice and had to be read carefully in order to follow instructions. Muskratmarie and mic@ joined me and my kids and we had great fun searching for the devil and his several pets, eyes, corns and other unspeakables…

mic

A herd of 25 or more wild boar surprised us near the final and while searching for the box we could still hear them in the shrubs uphill. It was quite scary, but these boars seemed to be semi domesticated, as later we could see several animals just keep on feeding while we passed them within 20 meters…

The final box was well filled with swag, I found the whole world in a cache. I just couldn’t resist this trade item and took it with me.
whole world

The hill top is actually a rubbelheap from the cleanup of World War II. The view over the city was great, even though the landmarks were not familiar. But I had local guides to tell me, which lights could be seen in the distance…
teufelsaugen
“langer Lulatsch” (“lanky lad”)

It was quite late by the time we came back from the cache, so I decided to spend the night at the parking lot in that wooded area. It would be going too far to call it a forest. It turned out to be a great spot for camping. We had a very quiet night, and the close by abandoned American listening station ensured regular police patrols during the night. So we could feel quite safe, except for the wild boar….