From Kassel to Ireland and back-
Part 6: Homeward bound

Even the nicest journey has to get to an end, and I must admid, after so many visits to well known places and new locations, I got travel-weary and looked forward to getting home again.

But before we boarded the ferry on the following day, we went for walk to a secret lake. This was well hidden and to my surprise totally frozen. It wasn’t that cold, I was still with my woolen jumper and a fleece waistcoat out there. But it must have been cold, as the lake had an ice cover, which withstood the stones my kids threw on it. The sound of stones bouncing of a frozen lake are something else and they enjoyed them so much, the lake was littered with stones as we left. If I hadn’t prevented them with promises of severe punishment, the children would have loved to try the thickness of the ice. But the car was quite some distance away, and no way I want to deal with pneumonia catching kids during a roadtrip.

frozen lakeFrozen Lake

Kilmore Quay is a very picturesque fishing village at the South East coast. Years ago we visited this little harbour village and now we came back, to search for a cache which was placed near a memorial garden for all those lost at sea. Nicely kept monument and stony beaches, just the right place for a lunchbreak. For me, the whale bone was amazing. Even though I remember quite clearly the finwhale washed at the beach at Brownstown Head near Tramore at christmas 1997, this rib bone brought the sheer size of these mammals back to mind!

Whale rib bonewhalebone

Near Rosslare, we climbed an rocky outcrop with fantansic views of Wexford, Rosslare Harbour and the surrounding lower areas. Unfortunately we didn’t manage to find the cache at this historic site, but still we had a great time searching between the rocks and heather…

view dish tower
The view out to sea and the well equipped tower

For some reasons I found many caches at old church ruins. The last sunset in Ireland was just glorious and we happened to be at a lovely church ruin, where the box was even in the dusk quickly spotted, as it lay totally open beneath an old stonearch. I couldn’t resist to take some pictures of the sunset, though!

sunsetFire displays at the western horizon

We spend the last night at the same cove near Rosslare Harbour and view of Tuskar Rock, where we stayed before. Ferry was due to leave early in the morning, but again Irish Ferries disappointed me, and we had a 2 hour delay. I’ll never book them again! Not only did they replace all Irish staff with East Europeans, but they don’t seem to maintain their engines. They certainly have lost me as a customer! I was “only” on holiday and there was no rush, but still it is very annoying to spend hours sitting at the car park waiting.

What the heck is a heckpoint?

tuskar rockLast view of Tuskar Rock Light House

On our way back we stopped shortly for a cache in Pembroke, which I had trouble finding, as I don’t have a map and all roads in the housing estate seemed to be cul de sacs… I think I drove into 5 dead ends, before I found the right one. I left a pathtag there, which was logged on the 21st of February. Someone had found their first cache and as I leave a note with my tags, she knew, she was allowed to take the pathtag. What a lovely reminder of her first find!

I wanted to visit Greenwich, but in the end I was so travel tired, that we just stoped south of London to find two Caches along the 0° Meridian.

One of them upset me no end. A Traditional should be just where the coordinates are and not 300 feet along the road. How much in heavens name is 300 feet anyway?

The coordinates showed a parking lot of an official looking building. Good thing, it was night time, we would have looked so stupid during the day. The cache description asked for us to find two shops, which commemorate the fact, that the zero meridian is going through their building. After a rough estimate, that 300 feet are about 100m we went through a shopping street, with nice shopfronts and pubs.
One of the plaques was easily found, but the second eluded us.

One of the plaquesplaque

Eventually with the help of the hint we found the cache.

But I didn’t like it one bit. A Multi labeled as a Tradi… Good thing I always read the cache description.

In South England it was quite cold, and by reaching French motorways I was in trouble. I tried to clean the windscreen, but the water spray froze within seconds to a solid icesheet on the screen and after that the system was frozen.

Not able to clean the screen, I had to stop every so often to get some water on the windscreen. From Brussels on till home there was snow, so we just had to stop and throw some snowballs on the windscreen… Those would melt and then I could get the salt of the screen… Forced stops and forced snowball “fights” with a helpless Dolly can be fun!

At home we got quite a shock, it was REALLY cold with –17°C.

My cats, who were indoors for the time and looked after by a friend, usually would leave the moment I open the door. But they just went outside for a few steps and immediately turned round and came back indoors…

And I had to get the fire going…

And log 79 caches and several DNFs…